EASE OF LIVING

We’ve been in Uganda over a year now. Even saying that now, my mind is like, “Wait, what? When did that happen?”

I’m sure some of you can relate to that feeling. Time passes without regard of our feelings, or how much or little we’ve accomplished. These last twelve months have been a time of growth and development for Nelson and myself. Personally, I’ve never felt more under qualified for something that God has called me to. But the great thing about God is – we don’t have to be qualified, HE qualifies us to do what He has called us to do. I’ve held onto that little truth pretty tightly over the past year.

Life in Uganda is, well, always an adventure. In Nelson’s last blog post he talked about our journey driving into Kampala for church on Sunday’s. He wasn’t exaggerating. This was our view on the drive back from church yesterday.

FullSizeRender

Stepping into a new culture can be challenging at times. However, LIVING in that culture can definitely teach us some things about ourselves very quickly. God has used this time greatly to help shape and mold Nelson and myself. We’ve learned just how important it is to depend on HIM for our strength and wisdom as we navigate our roles here at Show Mercy while also building a life together in the midst of constant transition and change. We’ve been challenged as we help to direct/oversee SMI operations, and work alongside 40+ full-time staff members. At the base where we stay, we’ve hosted over 100 short-term team members from all over the world. We’ve seen our marriage and relationship grow immensely as we continue to pursue Jesus. Most importantly, we’ve seen God move in and through countless lives. There have been hard days, yes. However, what I’m really starting to see is that God has truly given us EASE of living. He’s given us the GRACE to do what he has called us to. Do we fail? Yes. Do we make mistakes? Of course. But He has always been there to soften our fall. I believe he does this in all of our lives if we give him the chance to. For us, it took moving half way across the world, away from all that is familiar and comfortable, to realize our NEED for his hand in our life. It hasn’t been easy (notice the blog is titled EASE OF LIVING, not to be confused with EASY LIVING), but is has – without a doubt – been worth it.

I want to tell you that God is calling you into his Grace, in whatever that may look like. He wants us to go beyond ourselves, beyond what we are comfortable with, to the point where we can no longer rely on our own strength. He is calling us out on the waters. For some, this may look like having that hard conversation you KNOW you need to have. For others, it may look like quitting the job they hate and taking the step into something they are passionate about. No matter how seemingly ‘big’ or ‘small’ that step may be. Take it. God will meet you there, I guarantee it.

-Bethany


Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.
[Ephesians 3:20]

Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.
[Hebrews 4:16]

Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses,
so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.
[2 Corinthians 12:8-9]

IMG_2582.JPG
A photo I took of a boy in our sponsorship program. His joy is contagious! I hope this brings a smile to your face today.

 

Leave a Reply

